If you’ve worked in Texas real estate for some time, you know that brokers typically earn more money than agents. Those with a Texas real estate broker license can explore new career opportunities to earn additional income. They can lead a team of agents within an existing brokerage or even start their own company.
So are you ready to earn your broker license in Texas? Let us help you sort through the process with this easy-to-follow guide.
What Are the Texas Real Estate Broker License Requirements?
To be eligible for a real estate broker license in Texas, you must:
- Be at least 18 years old
- Be a citizen of the U.S. or lawfully admitted U.S. resident
- Meet TREC’s qualifications for honesty, trustworthiness, and integrity
You will also need to reach a minimum threshold of experience as a Texas real estate agent by checking both of these boxes:
How to Get a Texas Real Estate Broker License in 4 Steps
Do you meet all the requirements to start the process of pursuing a real estate broker license in Texas? If so, then you are ready to take the next steps to further your real estate career! Let’s get started.
Get a Texas Real Estate Broker License:
Complete the Texas Qualifying Education Requirements
File Your Broker License Application With TREC
Submit to a Background Check
Pass the Texas Real Estate Broker Exam
1. Complete the Education Requirements for a Texas Real Estate Broker License
You’ll need to complete 900 hours of real estate class hours to become a real estate broker in Texas. Yep, we know that this task seems daunting. That’s a lot of hours! But we promise you, it’s not as overwhelming as it sounds.
In fact, a bachelor’s degree may satisfy all of the educational requirements for a real estate broker license in Texas, and you may get credit for prelicensing and continuing education credits you already have. Let’s break it down.
5 Best Real Estate Schools in Texas for 2023
Section 1: 270 Hours From the Qualifying Education Course List
You must take the following courses to become a real estate broker in Texas. But you probably already took the first six courses (180 hours) on this list if you earned your real estate license in Texas:
- Principles of real estate I (30 classroom hours)
- Principles of real estate II (30 classroom hours)
- Law of agency (30 classroom hours)
- Law of contracts (30 classroom hours)
- Promulgated contract forms (30 classroom hours)
- Real estate finance (30 classroom hours)
Additionally, you’ll also have to take the following course within two years before applying for your broker license:
- Real estate brokerage (30 classroom hours)
In addition to the above 210 hours of classes, you’ll need to complete another 60 hours by choosing two of the following courses:
- Real estate appraisal
- Real estate law
- Real estate marketing
- Real estate mathematics
- Property management
- Real estate investments
- Residential inspection for real estate agents
Real Estate Broker vs. Agent: A Head-to-Head Analysis
Section 2: 630 Hours Additional Hours of Qualifying Courses or Approved Continuing Education Courses
The additional 630 hours of study can come from taking qualifying classes, approved continuing education classes, or college courses that you have taken to date.
If you choose to take college courses to satisfy your educational requirements, they need to be in the following subject areas:
- Real Estate
But if you don’t want to go the college route, you can choose a state-approved real estate school to help you fulfill your education requirements. We recommend you take your courses through The CE Shop because they offer both the required 270 hours of qualifying education classes and continuing education courses.
Learn how online classes from The CE Shop can help you reach your goal of becoming a Texas real estate broker.
2. File Your Broker License Application With TREC
Once you have the necessary experience and education, you’ll be ready to file your broker application with the TREC. To access the form, simply log into your TREC account. You’ll need to provide your personal information, answer questions about your legal history, and submit proof that you completed the education and experience requirements. Applicants must also pay a $235 fee.
The Average Real Estate Broker Salary for Every State
3. Submit to a Background Check
Your fingerprints must be on file for your Texas real estate broker license application to be processed. If TREC doesn’t have your fingerprints, you’ll be required to visit a MorphoTrust location and pay $38.25 to go through the process. To make an appointment, enter your TREC ID here.
4. Pass the Texas Real Estate Broker Exam
Time to Complete:
145 multiple-choice questions
Bring to Testing Center:
2 forms of valid ID
60/85 on the national exam; 38/60 on the state exam
The last step in the process of getting a real estate broker license in Texas is to pass the broker exam. You must visit the Pearson VUE website to schedule your exam at any of the Pearson VUE testing locations across Texas.
On exam day, we recommend you arrive 30 minutes early to sign in. Be sure to bring two valid forms of identification.
You’ll learn whether you passed or failed immediately upon completion. If you don’t pass, you’ll need to retake the portion of the exam you failed and pay another $39. Candidates get three attempts to pass both portions of the exam. If you don’t pass on your third try, you’ll need to take additional classes before trying again.
If you pass both the exam and background check, you’ll receive a license document from TREC by email within five to 10 business days.
Passing your Texas real estate broker license exam is serious business. To improve your chances of passing the first time you take it, consider enrolling in an exam prep course through Champions School of Real Estate. It includes national and state practice exams and textbooks.
How Much Does It Cost to Get a Real Estate Broker License in Texas?
Local real estate governing board:
Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC)
Cost of Texas Broker Courses:
Estimated Total Costs:
It costs around $1,500 to earn a real estate broker license in Texas, which is much pricier than the cost of obtaining a real estate salesperson’s license in Texas. Here are the approximate costs involved:
Sample Texas Real Estate Broker License Costs
|Base classes (270 hours)||$1,025 (through The CE Shop)|
|Additional 630 hours of classes||Varies|
|Exam prep (optional)||$120 (through Champions School of Real Estate)|
|Broker license application||$235|
|Broker exam registration||$39|
(Texas real estate broker license costs as of September 2023)
Pursue your Texas real estate broker license by completing your 270 course hours with The CE Shop. They’re one of our favorite providers and they have some of the best pass rates in the business.
How Much Do Real Estate Brokers in Texas Make?
According to The Close’s salary information database, real estate brokers in Texas make an average of $76,324, which isn’t far from the national average of $79,781. On the other hand, Texas agents earn an average income of $71,370. Keep in mind that a Realtor’s average income varies depending on one’s skill, work ethic, access to opportunities, and more.
Texas Real Estate Broker License FAQs
Is a Texas real estate broker license worth pursuing? We discuss the pros and cons of advancing your real estate career and answer other FAQs below. If you have other questions about a career as a Texas real estate broker, please drop them in the comment section.
Should I get my broker license in Texas?
As you already know, real estate agents in Texas are required to work under brokers, and they share commissions and may pay desk fees for the privilege. This system usually means that real estate brokers earn more than real estate agents.
Other advantages of earning your Texas real estate broker license include greater marketability. Property owners may be more likely to choose a broker to represent their interests since a broker may have a more impressive set of credentials, not to mention experience.
However, becoming a real estate broker comes with its own set of requirements and responsibilities. You’ll need to develop the necessary skills to recruit, hire, coach, and manage other agents. You’ll also face enormous fiscal responsibilities if you run your own brokerage, including signing off on other agents’ transactions.
Learn more about a broker’s income and expenses by reading our article, Real Estate Broker vs Agent: A Head-to-Head Analysis.
How long does it take to become a real estate broker in Texas?
After you meet the minimum experience requirements, it takes nine to 12 months to become a real estate broker in Texas. The bulk of the time will be spent fulfilling the 900 hours of education requirements. However, you may be able to count some of your prelicensing coursework and continuing education classes to meet those thresholds, which would reduce the time it takes to earn your license.
You’ll also have to set aside time to study for the Texas real estate broker exam and for TREC to process your application.
I have a broker license from another state. Does Texas offer license reciprocity?
Unfortunately, Texas does not have reciprocal agreements with any other state. Even if you’re a licensed broker somewhere else, you’ll still need to complete all of the Texas real estate broker license requirements before you can work as a broker here.
However, those with a Texas real estate license can work in the following states:
- North Carolina
[Related article: Real Estate License Reciprocity & Portability: A State-by-State Guide]
How to Start a Real Estate Brokerage in 2023 (Without Going Broke)
More Career Resources From The Close
We’ve outlined the steps to get your real estate broker license in Texas. In addition, The Close offers plenty of excellent career resources for new brokers. Subscribe to our newsletter and join our Facebook mastermind group to get the latest news, actionable real estate strategy, and insight from the world’s best real estate brokers.